Buick Skylark/Special Forum - '61, '62, and '63
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Transmission 63 Lark

3 posters

Go down

Transmission 63 Lark Empty Transmission 63 Lark

Post by Kochampftt Mon Feb 13, 2017 6:37 pm

So I recently purchased a 63 skylark. 3spd auto trans. I'm 30 and I picked the car up from my fiances dad, this is my first project car  and first vehicle made before 1990((my first car, also a buick lesabre awesome ride years ago)).

Anyways, the car is pretty well put together however, the transmission doesn't seem to want to go into reverse. I'm not sure whether its not catching or what honestly havent fooled with it but a few minutes today.

Thanks anyone and everyone for any advice!

Kochampftt

Back to top Go down

Transmission 63 Lark Empty Re: Transmission 63 Lark

Post by regal81455 Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:03 pm

Well very first thing is did you check the fluid? If it's low enough it won't go into gear no matter what you do. That's where Id start. If it's top'd up and still not moving note the color and smell of the fluid, then please report back and we will do our best to help you get rollin'!

BTW be sure to check the fluid with the engine warmed up and running. Be sure to chock the front wheels somehow.
regal81455
regal81455
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by Kochampftt Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:44 pm

Yeah, as per the usual. I haven't done that yet, however I did start it and drove it forward and it seemed to shift okay however uncrisp it was.

Kochampftt

Back to top Go down

Post by regal81455 Tue Feb 14, 2017 8:02 am