Buick Skylark/Special Forum - '61, '62, and '63
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Absolute beginner's shopping list for alternator conversion?

4 posters

Go down

Absolute beginner's shopping list for alternator conversion? Empty Absolute beginner's shopping list for alternator conversion?

Post by owlthathurts Fri Jul 10, 2020 11:37 pm

Hey all, I am having power issues and actually got stranded at 2am the other night. I have a little 100 watt amp running some Undercover II's in the back floorboards(our seats don't even have enough clearance for those to hide). My generator light is always on... and then it wouldn't start after a pit stop the other night. Battery is one week old.

SO, I thought I would do the upgrade to an alternator(I'd like to put a 10' in the trunk as well, so figured this is the right thing to do). I read the 'how-to' section, but it was pretty specific to those guy's issues. I was hoping I could paste some links in here and you experts could advise.. I would really appreciate the guidance.

Alternators are way cheaper than I expected, so I figured I should get a good one with plenty of competence(Volts+Amps) to run an amp and speakers.

I have pulled, checked the brushes, and reinstalled my generator before, so I feel pretty confident that I can pull this off myself.

Aside from the question of what to buy, can anyone clue me in on any new wiring that this might involve? This car car no A/C.

I read in the 'how-to' forum about the '63 brackets, will this work?
https://www.autopartsway.com/partlist.cfm?buick/1963/skylark/base/3.5l-v8/allb/electrical,-charging-and-starting/alternator-*-generator-and-related-components/alternator-bracket

And I really don't know where to start when choosing an alternator.. someone mentioned a 12Si? I'd like to have a really good one. I just don't know if you can overdo it with these things.